安装到购买率提升46.7%

挑战Pixonic希望Liftoff为其旗舰产品《机甲战队War Robots》在美国iOS平台上投放以用户获取为目的的广告。这款中度手游是一款极受欢迎的机甲格斗类游戏,玩家可以自由选择喜爱的机器人进行对决,并证明其机甲指挥能力。Pixonic运行用户获取广告时所面临的挑战是如何提升第7天的广告支出回报率(ROAS)。

解决方案广告营销活动开始前,为了更清晰地了解用户与游戏之间的互动,Liftoff详尽的分析了《机甲战队》的用户流程。和大多数游戏一样,《机甲战队》的标准用户流程是:安装-达到X关卡-达到Y关卡-购买。

为了帮助中度游戏成功获取用户,Liftoff要求产生应用内购前,所有的回发都要经过中介优化。这样做的原因是帮助Liftoff系统快速定位高价值和低CPA用户,同时自动避免为既有用户再次买单。因此,Pixonic通过全球领先之一的移动应用跟踪及归因分析平台AppsFlyer,将所有回发发送至Liftoff平台

Liftoff创意团队与Pixonic密切合作,制作了大量的创意素材并以横幅广告、插页广告、视频广告和原生广告的形式展现并反复测试。为了充分展现Liftoff的测试能力,Pixonic给予其更多的创意空间。

《机甲战队》是一款杰出的游戏,为此Liftoff测试了不同的视频主题。其中一个是关于游戏玩法与游戏预告的视频对比测试。对于横幅广告的表现测试,Liftoff则是通过静态横幅广告和显示游戏中武器使用的动态横幅广告进行对比测试。

广告活动设置完成后,Liftoff开始着手于竞价的测试及优化。其最终目标是在CPI保持不变的情况下,提升第7天的ROAS。Liftoff机器学习(ML)平台通过使用类似受众(lookalike audience)的方式优化竞价,定位极有可能安装应用,而后又能够达到某一关卡,最终完成应用内购的用户群体。

我们与Liftoff一直合作的都非常愉快,因为我们可以根据设定的KPI获得流量。由于Liftoff团队深度参与到我们的广告活动中,使我们能够随着KPI的变化快速调整方案并优化流量。Pixonic公司UA经理Elena Golikova表示

结果

得益于“完美的广告活动设置”,这款中度游戏的广告活动表现从一开始就可圈可点。这归功于Pixonic授予Liftoff团队充分的发挥空间,加之全部的回发都经由归因平台传送并优化。Liftoff通过多个中介事件(完成关卡)完成应用内购买的优化,使广告活动表现尤为突出。此外,Pixonic的预算也非常灵活,充分利用上升周期优化应用内购买。

Liftoff通过多重测试、新创意和表现监测使CPI保持在低位。而此次营销活动的成功也归功于创意测试。例如,在游戏玩法和游戏预告视频的对比测试中,前者将安装量提升了48%。此外,Pixonic还为不同的国家和地区提供了不同的视频和图片素材以及本地语言的优化,这使广告活动的测试更为方便。

此次活动的另一大成功体验在横幅广告创意的测试,实现了ROAS和CPI之间的平衡。在测试镜头横幅广告及展现游戏中武器用法的动态横幅广告中,后者将应用安装量提升了56%。

通过在广告活动期间进行的严格测试和优化,最终达成了令人满意的效果。而Liftoff机器学习平台的类似受众定位和广告测试,最终也为Pixonic带来了巨大收益。

  • 曝光到点击增长31.6%
  • 点击到安装增长51.9%
  • 应用内购买增长25.3%
  • 安装到购买增长46.7%
  • 最重要的是,第7天的ROAS增长33.2%

随着营销效果的积极延续(第7 天ROAS提升),Pixonic团队追加了投放,平均每日支出增加了21.6%。此外,Pixonic还将美国iOS平台的成功复制到了其他国家和地区,安卓平台的用户获取项目也将很快启动。

cs-pixonic-logo

Pixonic 是一家视频游戏开发商与发行商,总部位于莫斯科。公司旗下推出的《机甲战队War Robots》家喻户晓,这款第三人称实时PvP战斗游戏能够与来自全球的玩家一争高低。

  • 成立于2009年
  • 总部:俄罗斯莫斯科
cs-pixonic-phone

Install-to-purchase rate increases by 46.7%

The ChallengeLiftoff worked with Pixonic, headquartered in Moscow, to run a user acquisition campaign for their flagship War Robots mid-core game on iOS in the USA. War Robots is a popular shooter game about giant robots where players prove themselves as the best mech commanders. Pixonic’s challenge was scaling UA campaigns for their mid-core game with a goal to increase their day 7 return on ad spend (D7 ROAS).

The SolutionPrior to launching the campaign, Liftoff analyzed the War Robots app user flow to better understand how users engaged with the game. As with most games, the standard user flow for those who played War Robots was: Install > Level X Reached > Level Y Reached > In-App Purchase.

For mid-core UA gaming campaigns to be successful, Liftoff requires all postbacks to be sent for intermediary optimizations before an in-app purchase is made. Liftoff requires this because it allows our system to more quickly hone in on high-value, low-CPA users while also automatically avoiding spend on existing users. Pixonic sent all postbacks to Liftoff from AppsFlyer, a leading mobile app tracking & attribution analytics platform.

The Liftoff creative team worked with Pixonic to design numerous creative and copy tests using banners, interstitials, videos and native ads. Pixonic provided Liftoff full creative flexibility, in order to take full advantage of Liftoff’s testing capabilities.

With an extremely eye-catching game, Liftoff dove in and tested many video concepts. One such test pitted a video of gameplay vs a trailer overview of the game. Another focus was testing banners. One example was comparing the performance between a static banner and conveyor banner which displayed weapons used in the game.

Once the campaign setup was complete, Liftoff began testing and optimizing bids with the goal of increasing D7 ROAS while keeping an eye on CPIs. The Liftoff machine learning (ML) platform optimized bids using lookalike audiences with a high likelihood of installing, reaching a certain amount of levels, and then finally completing an in-app purchase.

Working with Liftoff has been great since we can acquire traffic according to our KPI’s. The Liftoff team are deeply involved in the campaign, so we can make adjustments to our plans faster and also optimize the traffic as soon as KPI’s need updating.Elena Golikova, Lead UA Manager, Pixonic

The Results

Due to a “perfect campaign setup,” this mid-core game campaign’s performance was positively impacted from the very start. A perfect campaign setup was composed of Pixonic granting full creative flexibility, all postbacks, and view-through attribution being enabled. Once Liftoff optimized towards in-app purchases, via optimizing for multiple strong intermediary events (level completes), the campaign started showing positive performance results. Pixonic also had the appetite to spend dynamically, taking advantage of good periods, resulting in in-app purchase optimization.

Multiple tests, new creative concepts and close performance monitoring also allowed Liftoff to keep CPIs low. Many successful creative tests contributed to the overall success of the campaign. For example, when testing a video of actual gameplay vs a trailer overview of the game, the gameplay video had a 48% lift in app installs. Pixonic has also provided geo-specific videos and imagery which made it easier to run campaign-specific tests, optimizing in local languages.

Another win resulted from heavily testing banner creatives which really helped us balance between ROAS & CPIs. In the example of testing a static banner vs a conveyor banner which displayed weapons, the conveyor creative resulted in a 56% lift in app installs.

With rigorous testing and optimizations over the life of the campaign, the campaign proved extremely successful. With a combination of our ML platform’s lookalike audience targeting and ad testing by our creative team, huge gains resulted.

  • Impression-to-clicks increased 31.6%
  • Click-to-installs increased by 51.9%
  • In-app purchases increased by 25.3%
  • Install-to-purchases increased 46.7%
  • Most importantly, the D7 ROAS increased 33.2%

With a steady stream of ongoing wins, including increased D7 ROAS, the Pixonic team was able to scale the campaign, increasing the average daily spend by 21.6%. Furthermore, the success of the iOS US campaign allowed Pixonic to expand into other geos and start a UA campaign for their Android app.

Pixonic is a video game developer and publisher headquartered in Moscow. The company is best known for producing War Robots, a third-person, mid-core shooter game with real-time PvP battles against rivals from all over the world.

  • Founded in 2009
  • HQ: Moscow, Russia